GRE Argument: An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument proposes that the impoverished nation of Tagus has people having Vitamin A deficiency and also they have engineered a new type of Millet that is rich in Vitamin A. The argument recommends that the government of Tagus should do everything to promote this new type of millet to cater the Vitamin A deficiency of the people living in the Tagus. However, this argument is based on false premises and the government should answer the questions mentioned in the following paragraph to clear their stand.

What if the taste of new millet is different so how can people readily adapt to the new type of millet? The argument fails to answer that concretely that the newly engineered millet might have a different taste altogether. This will discourage people to buy the new type of millet and will lead to failure of the promotion. For example, Consider the current breed of banana which we have in the market. If we introduce a new breed that looks the same as that of the old breed and has all the vital calcium content in it but tastes differently in a bad way, then will people buy it? Obviously no. Hence the argument fails to answer that question.

Moreover, what is the credibility of the international development organization that has released the new breed of millet? Not even one statement in the argument mentions that this organization is

"internationally reputed" in the creation of agricultural products and wrongly assumes that the new breed is rich in Vitamin A without providing any substantial evidence or reports regarding that. This situation is analogous to that of North Korea where Koreans are led to believe that their country is the most developed in the entire world, people there readily believe the propaganda of the government without ever asking what is the proof that we are the most developed. Such questions make this a weak argument filled with logical errors.

Furthermore, what is the guarantee that subsidies will encourage the farmers to grow this new breed? What if some other crop is more profitable than growing new type of millet? For example, it might happen that the farmers find mango to be more profitable than millet than considering the economical perspective why would a farmer grow a crop that is not profitable. Will that farmer only consider the subsidies? No, after all, a farmer is a businessman and its necessary for him to consider the economical factors behind growing that crop. Such questions are not answered logically and the argument looks absolutely false considering the point.

In conclusion, I would like to say that the argument has many unanswered questions and on the basis of that we can say that recommendation will not have the desired result. To make the argument sound more logical it should provide some evidence regarding the credibility of the organization that has developed the seeds of new millet and also should provide concrete evidence regarding, whether the people like the new millet or not. The authorities must consider answering the questions to make a better decision that will help the people of the impoverished nation of Tagus have a better life without any kind of deficiencies.