An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given prompt, the author suggests that the government of Tagus should take necessary steps to promote the adoption of this newly engineered breed of millet and provide subsidies for the same. The author arrives that this conclusion based on the premise that adoption of this new breed of millet would help suffice the vitamin A deficiency among the people of Tagus. However, the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unwarranted assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. Before we could evaluate the suggestion, the following questions must be addressed.

First, the author cites that this newly engineered breed of millet would help suffice the vitamin A deficiency among the people of Tagus. However, the author fails to bolster his/her claim with statistical data regarding the same. Also, the scope and validity of the study is unknown. What is the sample size of the study? What is the content of vitamin A per gram? How many people suffer from vitamin A deficiency? How much intake of new breed of millet would provide the requisite amount of vitamin A? Unless the author presents the laboratory reports of this new breed of millet, its claim and reliability cannot be validated. If the above is true, then the conclusion drawn by the author does not hold water.

Furthermore, Are the farmers willing to grow this crop in their fields? It is probable that this new breed of millet might deter the efficacy of the agricultural activities. For instance, it is possible that this millet might invigorate soil erosion, invariably adversly affecting the fertility of the land. Also, the new millet might demand greater quantity of water and pesticides, adding to the cost of cultivation. Moreover, is it feasible for the government to subsidize this new breed of millet? As this new millet is recently engineered, it is highly likely that there exitst a huge demand of the new crop and therefore making it expensive. Thus, the government might not be able to acquire the requisite amount of seed for large-scale cultivation. If either of the above holds merit, then the argument is weakened.

Finally, Are the people of Tagus willing to adopt this new millet in their daily diet? Is the taste, nutrient composition and cooking techniques the same as the previous millet? It is natural proclivity of people to be reluctant to adopt new food in their daily diet, especially as it concerns the health directly.Is is probable that they do not adopt this new crop creating a bottleneck in demand-supply ration in the market. If the above is warranted, then the argument looses its persuasiveness.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its relaince on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to address the questions raised above and perhaps provide a scientific study to learn more about this newly engineered breed of millet and its effect on the people of Tagus, then we can evaluate the viability of the argument completely.