An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author recommends that the government of Tagus should promote the new breed of millet that is high in vitamin A and that the people of Tagus will readily adopt this new variety based on the premise that millet is already a staple food in Tagus. However, before this recommendation can be assumed to be able to cause the predicted result, there are some questions that should first be answered.

First of all, there's an assumption that the international development organization responded to a vitamin A deficiency among people in Tagus. Are the people considered in the survey or test conducted by this organization a representative of the vitamin A status of the people of Tagus? It is possible that the survey conducted included just two people from Tagus that are deficient in vitamin A and that the bulk of the population of Tagus although impoverished are not vitamin A deficient. It is also possible that the said survey was conducted in an hospital ward in which only people that are vitamin A deficient reside. If any of these scenarios prove to be possible, then there's need for the question about the people that were involved in whatever survey the international organization must have carried out.

Secondly, there is an assumption that that the breed of millet available in Tagus is not rich in vitamin A. There's need for answers to the question; Is the millet consumed by the people of Tagus rich in vitamin A? It is possible that the current breed of Millet available to these people is already very rich in vitamin A and that their deficiency of Vitamin A comes from the inability of millet to sufficiently cater for their vitamin A needs. It is also possible that during the preparation of the millet, people of Tagus typically boil the millet at very high temperature which erodes the food of its vitamin A content which is why they are deficient in vitamin A and not because of the millet. Should any of these scenarios be found to hold water, then the recommendation is flawed and begs the need for answers to the question about the vitamin A content of the current breed of millet available in Tagus.

Additionally, the recommendation is based on an assumption that the people of Tagus will readily adopt this new breed simply because millet is already a staple food in Tagus. We do however need answers to the question; Is the new breed the same as the current one? Is the taste and form the same as the one present in Tagus? It is possible that the new breed of millet tastes differently from the old one and the majority of the population of Tagus do not like this new taste and therefore will choose not to take this new breed of millet. It is also possible that the new breed of millet will be sold at an exorbitant price in the markets of Tagus and that most people in Tagus cannot afford this new breed. Should these scenarios be found to be plausible, then there's need for the questions about the taste and form of the new variety of millet to be answered.

As it stands, the recommendation cannot be regarded as one viable enough to effect the predicted result because it is based on several unwarranted assumptions and there's need for the questions stated above to be answered and for further evidence to be offered before we can consider it a reasonable recommendation.