An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The prompt has stated that combating vitamin A deficiency among the impoverished people of Tagus is predicated on the government's support in promoting the adoption of a new millet breed among local farmers. The author has established this recommendation based on the adoption of millet as a staple food, by the people, and that farmers will be paid subsidies to farm the new variety of millet. However, for this recommendation to be accurately evaluated, the following two key questions need to be answered.

To start off, how much is the said subsidy worth when compared to the cost of the millet and the overall profit margin? In other words, will the subsidy considerably offset the millet cost with room for enough gain for the farmer? The author has erroneously assumed that the subsidies will be sufficient for the farmers to cultivate this new millet and still have enough returns. Perhaps, the subsidy is a paltry sum that just barely defrays the cost to the farmer with no commensurate returns. If this holds true, then the recommendation does not hold merit. Consequently, the farmers will not cultivate the millet seeds, which will definitely not yield the predicted results.

Furthermore, have the new millet breeds been tested and validated for human consumption by appropriate authorities? That millet is already a staple food, does not make a new breed automatically safe for consumption. It is possible that the engineered breed of millet may cause health concerns if consumed. The argument does not state whether the millet has been vetted safe for consumption by authorities. If this is the case, then the prediction cannot occur since no one will want to have strange foods on their menu.

In conclusion, the prediction is considerably flawed and will not lead to the proposed result. If the aforementioned questions are addressed, then the author's position can be bolstered and it can be properly evaluated. More investigations have to be made into the new millet breed and the highlighted concerns before steps can be taken to promote it among the farmers of Tagus.