An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation in which the Tagus government should do everything it can to promote the new type of millet to combat a vitamin A deficiency among the people of Tagus is a viable strategy, but one that may not reap its intended result of ameliorating the vitamin A deficiency in Tagus.

Before the government of Tagus "does everything it can" to promote this new type of millet, it would be pivotal to seek out the true and undeclared intentions of the international development organization. The action of introducing a new variety of millet to the food chain may drastically alter the source and economic patterns of the millet market. Despite the "well-intendedness" of the organization, the government or relevant anti-trust bodies in Tagus should ensure that the welfare of its economic markets and farmers will remain intact. In doing so, the government may avoid a situation reminiscent of Big Pharma and other developing countries in the real world. Reproductive capabilities of the seeds should be questioned, as is the stake the organization has in the industry and the possibility of creating a monopoly in the market for millets.

Likewise, the outcome of this move by the government pivots on the responsiveness of the people towards the promotion of the new type of millet. Assuming the new millet is marketed as the new medicinal supplement targeted towards the widespread vitamin A deficiency, the government would do good to scout out the general public's attitude towards genetically-modified foods, especially if such a concept was not previously known to the people of Tagus. The farmer's attitudes towards obtaining seed from foreign international bodies may also be sceptical, if not rejecting of such a major seed provider as a new player in the market.

Lastly, a scope into the root cause of the vitamin A deficiency would be meaningful, especially if this reason is one that undermines the success of consuming millet high in vitamin A as a dietary supplement. It may be possible that poverty and the lack of variety and hence vitamin A in one's diet could be one of these causes. In such cases, subsidies for the new millet seeds bringing down the cost of farming new millet may not be sufficient in ensuring the new millet reaching the most impoverished echelons of Tagus society, given the elevated price of new millet seeds.