An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation that the government of Tagus should to everything in its power to promote the engineered breed of millet is unwarranted as there is insufficient data to arrive at such conclusion.

While the nation of Tagus may be impoverished; the writer did not give any statistical proof to back this. The nature of their impoverishness could probably be due to their poor financial or economical status leading to a low standard of living. Even if Tagus is indeed impoverished, promoting the vitamin A enriched millet will not be of help if the citizen's biological system is well-adjusted to low vitamin A nutrient. An example is in the case of the Himalayans who live in the alps around Mount Everest. Himalayans have special lungs and circulatory systems that have long adapted to the low oxygen levels of the Himalaya mountain range. To insist on the promotion of the vitamin A fortified millet in Tagus would therefore be unjustified.

Futhermore, little informed is provided on the engineered millet. Food developed in the laboratory will need to have passed a series of tests and verifications to ensure it is fit for consumption; nothing in the write-up indicates that any such tests was conducted not to speak of passed. Even if the new millet has passed any such tests, what is to say it is edible for humans.

Also, the amount of subsidy that will be provided to the farmers is not stated. Who can say if the subsidy will cater for the cost to grow the new millet in place of the old one. It is very possible that the citizens may not be able to afford it at all.

In conclusion, it is clear that the writer's recommendation is not well thought-out, hence, credence cannot be given to it.