An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given argument, the government of Tagus has come to the conclusion that a new breed of millet must be promoted in all possible ways, to combat vitamin A deficiency among its citizens. They base this on the premise that a new millet rich in vitamin A has been engineered, and that farmers would be paid subsidies to farm the new variety. However, before the recommendation is evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First, apart from being high in vitamin A, does the new millet variety retain other nutritional benefits of the millet traditionally grown in Tagus? It may be possible that the new variety has lower amounts of fibre, vitamin E, or minerals, things that generally occur in millet. If the recommendation was to be accepted in this case, then the population may start to suffer from other deficiencies, like that of the aforementioned components. A complete and absolute move to the new millet variety may lead to such unfavourable conditions, and may exacerbate the nation’s impoverishment. Hence, evidence must be provided in this regard before drawing out a conclusion.

Second, although the farmers of the new millet variety will be paid subsidies, does this new variety achieve the same amount of yield per hectare? In other words, will farmers' fields yield the same amount of effective output when farming the new variety of millet? Perhaps, it may be the case that the new variety has a significantly lower yield. If the subsidies are commensurate to the size of the harvest, then farmers would earn lesser than before, and would suffer in poverty. To address this, the government should provide evidence that answers this question, to ensure the fair compensation of the nation's farmers.

Finally, are there no other existing ways for the people of Tagus to overcome the widespread vitamin A deficiency? This question can also be rephrased as follows: Has the government tried to find other possibly indigenous food crops or food items that could mitigate the deficiency? Milk is known to contain a plethora of vitamins, including vitamin A, and there is a possibility that milk is also being produced in Tagus, but is largely not consumed by the population in their usual diet. The government should consider existing ways to solve the issue, since if this kind of favourable food item is already being produced in the country but is not a staple, then the government could simply encourage the consumption of the item, instead of shelling out a portion of their budget to subsidise new millet breeds. This approach may even prove beneficial for the economy of Tagus. Hence, answering this question is quintessential to evaluating the recommendation put forth by the government.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands in its current form, is considerably flawed due to various unwarranted assumptions and unanswered questions. Answering the questions above would greatly aid critical evaluation of the recommendation, and to do this, more evidence must be provided; the government could conduct a systematic study and survey of what foods the people of Tagus consume, and could ask the international development organization to release a comprehensive report of the qualities of the new variety of millet. Only then, could the proposal be viably evaluated.