The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The manager suggests that his company should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its previous level. Still, some musing over evidence is first very much before taking any steps.

The author of the argument claims that late-night news program has more national news and less weather and local news. and during this period, the complaints are received from viewers. It seems that the complaints are attributed to composition of news. However, the number of complaints received should be presented. It is possible that there are only 10 customers' complaints received in the television station. Even 9 out of 10 complaints about the insufficient content of local news, it is barely to reflect the real condition of most views, because there are 100,000 views watching TV and the samples are obviously not enough representative. The author needs to provide the credential of evidence to make the argument more cogent.

Additionally, it seems that the magnitude of increasing national news and decreasing local and weather news is drastic, but we don't know. Still, the detailed distribution of national news, weather news and local news is necessary to be offered. A probable explanation is that the actual increasing of national news is only 1% compared to previous level. It is hardly to claim that the little changed distribution of time could discourage advertisers to cancel their advertisements.

Moreover, the writer suggests that advertisers cancel their contracts due to the time re-distribution of news. Nevertheless, the real reasons of cancelling the contract is not presented. It is possible that the advertisers cancel the contracts because they find other television station that provide cheaper cost of advertisement on the same period of time. Therefore, they would like to move their advertisement to other television programs. The manager of television station has to address the detailed reason for advertisers to cancel the contract.

Furthermore, it seems that the popularity would come back to previous level by restoring the time devoted to different news. However, the failure reason should be presented. It is possible that 90% of views are bored with the talk show in this television station, so they pay attention to others that presents more interesting content of talk show. The manager needs to consider this possibility and it is suggested to invite 3rd party investigation to do a survey to know the actual reason of losing an audience.

In conclusion, unless the evidence mentioned above is presented, the readers could not believe in the argument.