Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, resources should be invested in unmanned space flight.

In his letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine, the author suggests that resources should be invested in unmanned space flight. The author has come to this conclusion based on the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites which demonstrated a great deal of useful information without the costs and risks associated with manned space flight. The argument, as it stands now, is based on two unwarranted assumptions which need to be properly substantiated in order to evaluate the argument.

Firstly, the author presumes that the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellite was strictly because it was an unmanned space flight, and that unmanned space flight will always be successful as experienced recently. However, this may not be the case. It is possible that the success of unmanned space flight was novel as such had never happened in the past. There is also a possibility that the unmanned space success was a mere coincidence which happens once in a blue moon. If any of the above scenarios was the case, the argument of the author is significantly weakened.

In addition, the author assumes that manned spaceflight, despite the risks and costs associated with it cannot give much more successful results that the unmanned spaceflight. However, this may not be the case. It is possible that if manned space flight had been employed recently in place of the unmanned space flight, more interesting and outstanding success would have been obtained, which would greatly compensate for the risks and costs involved. The described scenario greatly renders the argument of the author weak.

In conclusion, the argument in the prompt lacks profundity as it is based on some unfounded assumptions described above. The author needs to provide provide answers and additional evidence to the above concerns in order to evaluate if, indeed, resources should be invested in unmanned space flight and not manned space flight.