Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

In the letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine, views are on space flights and bridges a comparison of manned and unmanned space flights based on the previous missions and considering the amount of information gathered in the past. The editor, in this letter, claims many things based on mere assumptions and if proved wrong may weaken the stance presented in the letter.

First of all, there is an assumption that the recent series of unmanned mission that took place were successful enough to get information. There is a possibility that, for example, out of 10 only 3 to 4 of them were successful missions and other missions failed in gathering information. Another possibility might be that, the amount of information that was needed or thought to be achieved, only 50% of it was attained. Not all things can be achieved just with the help of technology, until a person sees it before its eyes, it might not be proved correct.

Second of all, the writer of the letter assumes that the unmanned space crafts would cost lower than the manned space ships. It might be possible that the amount of money used by both missions would be the same. Since there is a budget issued by the government, the space flight consumes the amount of money required on the basis of the aim of the mission. There is another such possibility that, unmanned space flights would require higher amount of costing since the camera is used to capture images in order to get a particular information, whereas a manned space ship may not require high-rise camera because the real-time experience of astronauts would be enough to cite information.

The writer feels that the manned space flights are more dangerous. With the advancements in aeronautical and aerospace technology, everything seems to be achievable, due to higher amount of money, the scientists are now making space flights with materials that cannot be harmed by space debris.

Hence the opinion cited to the editor of national aeronautics magazine in the letter undermines many possibilities, and the claims are baseless. If the above mentioned possibilities are correct, it may weaken the opinion presented to the editor.