Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

It is true that manned space flight comes with its set of perils. The risk associated with sending men and women into space is something which needs to be mitigated. The Challenger fiasco is a perfect testimony to this fact. A lot of brave young men and women lost their lives in that accident, which could have been avoided.

It is interesting to note that unmanned space probes and satellites predate manned space-flight. The Sputnik was launched in 1951 and it took us 18 more years to put a man on the moon. The process of human deployment in space is time-consuming and cumbersome. Yet, we continue to invest millions of dollars in astronaut training. At some level, it should be understood that the human resource is something which cannot be subsumed by machines. Unmanned-space flights have had great successes in the recent past. The Mars Rover was able to traverse the surface of the red planet and bring us pictures of never-before-seen craters and potential sites for human habitation.

However, it should be noted that these are not isolated successes. Behind every triumphant space-probe lies a team of human minds. Therefore, it would be unwise to comment on the economic feasibility of these missions without taking into account the human component. Space probes have also had their fair share of pitfalls. Missions which were earmarked for 4-5 years had to be scrapped within months due to technical failures. Given our advances in technology and robotics, it would be natural for us to assume that these inconsistencies can be effectively addressed with modern resources. That does not take away the fact that there is a significant amount of uncertainty associated with machine-based space travel.

When a working section of the International Space Station had a glitch, a team of human experts were sent to rectify it. The integrity of machines for long-term space operations is therefore circumspect. I concede to your argument that investments in unmanned space-flight should go up, but eliminating human-deployment altogether seems like a knee-jerk response. Several test missions involving artificial intelligence and robots produced unsatisfactory results. As a result, a full-time engagement of machines is nothing more than a long shot. Human and mechanical competence are not mutually exclusive. Manned space-flight continues to enjoy its share of advantages, both economic and scientific. The durability of these advantanges is definitely open to interpretation.

But, I am of the view that investing all of our resources in unmanned space flight without developing a robust astronaut program is counterproductive to our requirements. The two spheres have to feed of one another and grow symbiotically.