Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight

The argument argues that the investment in unmanned space flight is necessary. This claim is not enough sound because it contains three unspecified assumptions that reduces its credibility.

First, the argument assumes that there was no recent failure of unmanned space flight. The author just claims that there was a recent series of successful unmanned space projects and does not mentions any drawbacks. If there was a recent fatal accident regarding unmanned space flight, this would weaken the argument.

Second, the argument assumes that all useful information that can be obtained by manned space flights can be gathered from unmanned space flights too. Because of this assumption, the author claims that unmanned space flight is superior by comparing the costs and risks only. If there is some crucial information from space flights where human skills are mandatory, then the argument will be rebuked since it ignores the achievability of this valuable information.

Finally, the argument assumes that unmanned flight is more cheaper and safer than manned flight. While the author's conclusion is based on the comparison of the costs and risks of the two types of space flight, there is no evidence that manned flight is absolutely better and makes the conclusion less cogent. If a research result or a statistic that unmanned flight is financially beneficial and less riskier is included, it would strengthen the argument. However, if the cost of a necessary probe to taking place of an astronaut is gigantic, then the argument would be weakened.

In conclusion, the argument rely on three questionable assumptions and they make the argument hard to believe. The author needs to provide more details regarding these assumptions to make the argument more logical to the reader.