"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

While it maybe true that we ought to invest our resources in unmanned space flight, the author does not make a cogent argument leading to that conclusion.There are many conspicuous and subtle fallacious assumptions made by the author left unproved with the lack of substantial evidence.

Firstly,the manned space flights are described as a costly job fraught with peril and therefore,the author argues that we should not waste our resources on them and instead focus on unmanned expeditions.However,the author does not address the other side of the issue. To regard anything as useful and effective to a particular case , both the merits and demerits of it are to be considered and if one of them outweighs the other, then we can choose a side.Also, the manned space flights might be costly because of their advance features imbibed into them than those of the unmanned flights. So rather than focus only on the cost and completely outline the manned space flights,we have to be provided with a bigger perspective considering all the pros and cons of both the flights and then decide on a feasible option leading to efficacy.

Secondly,the author claims that manned space flights should be supplanted with the unmanned flights because of the underlying risk in manned flights.However,this is another feeble reason given by the author in support of his stance.Glancing at any historical success,one can observe that no great success involved plain sailing with no hazards.

Living in the constantly developing era of technology; the sweeping changes brought by digital computing which processes information in the speed thousand times faster than a blink of a eye; many successful manned space expeditions were conducted ;many astronauts delved into the vast unbounded space revealing many spectacles and valuable discoveries .The crave for space-development never dies and the space technology is ever improving with time because of the risks taken by many scientists and astronauts.In such times, it is not apt to say that because of the prevailing danger,manned flights should not be preferred.However,if the argument is to be strengthened,the author should include details of the dangers involved in both the flights in different scenarios and can then argue that one is better than the other.

Also, we do not know the precision and accuracy of the data gathered from unmanned space probes. Space missions are underlined with lot of uncertainties ;the robots or the probes must possess some set of cognition to be able to act in such undetermined situations.Suppose there is a sudden meteor attack directed towards the space craft , a machine might fail to take action if not programmed whereas a human in the same scenario can use his mental skill to solve that problem.In case of such adversities during the flight, a man uses his cognitive skills to act accordingly but a machine might just collapse making the whole experiment a failure with a substantial amount of loss for the equipment's. If the argument is to be strengthened,the credibility of the information gathered from the unmanned space flights is to be incorporated into the prompt.

Finally,the author also states that there was a recent success of the unmanned space probes ; although the statistics of its success rates are not provided and we need more information like what kind of mission they accomplished and how; maybe it wasn't involved with complex scenarios where men would have performed better.To strengthen his/her argument,details of the success rates with regard to the missions they accompanied are to be included in the prompt.

Therefore,we need more information on the statistics of the success, the description of the unmanned space probes ,and some other facts and substantial evidences to concur with the author's conclusion.