"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The argument is flawed in numerous ways. Primarily, the argument is based on unwarranted assumption. The assumptions taken by the writer are that if the unmanned satellites have been successful in their mission then even in future the unmanned satellites would give similar results.Furthermore,the writer also does not give an explanation about the information gathered by manned space flights and that by unmanned space flights.

The assumption made by the writer about considering the unmanned space flights to be successful just because they have given a satisfactory result n the past. The argument would have been stronger had it provided information regarding the technology to be used,the time of the total mission, the type of information to be gathered and also compare the mission of the previous unmanned space probes for instance the previous satellites are sent to the moon and if in the future we want to send a satellite to mars then the comparison is not suited.

The argument also leaves many more unwarranted assumption one of which is the cost related to the satellite and the associated information attained. if the cost of the mission is high but if it provides more information than any lower cost mission then the investment is absolutely worthy. If the writer would have provided the information about the data collected by manned mission and the unmanned mission with respect to cost then t woud habe bolstered the argument as if this assumption fails the entire argument will fall apart.

the argument states something like "great deal of information". The argument would be stonger if the author mention if to be more precise about the information as the the term great deal is vague.

Because the argument makes such unwarranted assumptions ,it fails to make a convincing case about invest on more in unmanned space flights rather