Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

Manned space flights are use to take some human to space whereas, unmanned space flight contains some robot instead of human. The conclusion of the argument that contries should be investing more in unmanned space flight rather than manned space flight, seems to be logical at first glance but is based on some assumptions which have no clear evidances and terms that lack definition.

Firstly, the term success seems to be vague. The author should have given examples of these success of series which is mentioned in the argument. Likewise, the term great deal should have been more clearly mentioned but the author by presenting facts and figures.

Secondly, the risk assocaited in sending an unmanned space flight is almost equal to that of sending manned space flight. Moreover, the costs of sending an unnmanned space flight is comparitively equal or more than that of senfing manned space flight. If there is no human in the space flight, technology or robot to be precise, must be good enough that it works equal to that of a men. The costs associated with the maintainance of this technology is not cosidered by the author.

The first human to go on moon Neil Armstrong and his team got a huge loads of information while coming back. A robot or technology will work for which it is programmed for and thus many not be able to perceive all things that may be good for humans.

The author of the passsage should not directly jump to conclusion based on such evidances and assumptions which are comparitively weaker. Author should have researched more provding good evidances along with facts and figures. Scientist not only check for information gathering but also for capability to sustain human life outside earth and this make it necessary for investing in manned space flight.