Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flights.

In the letter to the editor of the national aeronautics’ magazines, the author has made certain claims, in which he states that, manned space flight is costly and dangerous. He tries to support the claim put forth by stating that there have recent trends where unmanned space flights are sent to the space to demonstrate great deal of information. Hence, we should invest our resources and venture the program of sending unmanned space flights. Though, the claims put forth seems to be astounding and some might consider taking those in action, but there aren’t any factual data to bolster the claims put forth and requires serious validation before putting it into action.

Firstly, the author posits: manned space flights are costly and dangerous. This claim proposed is in direct comparison with the unmanned space flights. For doing things, which have great earnings, require a lot of risk and money. So, is the case of sending manned spacecrafts. The return on value is great and also it is reliable to send manned spacecrafts as the information would be more reliable and tested as compared to the unmanned spacecrafts. Also, the author, doesn’t consider the cost and technology that would be required to develop unmanned spacecrafts. Unmanned spacecrafts might be requiring more amount of money for the tools and the technologies used while developing it. Also, sending unmanned spacecrafts isn’t wise as it adds on to the space debris.

Author claims that there have been recent series of unmanned spacecrafts travelling into space and gathering information. The author doesn’t back’s his statement with any kind facts or data’s. how relevant was the data acquired by the unmanned spacecrafts? Was the data provided by the unmanned spacecrafts useful for further research. The unmanned spacecrafts cannot be used to check the possibility of life in the space or any planet as compared to those of manned spacecrafts as there would be real people assessing the conditions, to validate whether it the conditions are survivable.

Also, there might be a case that very few unmanned spacecrafts might be released onto the space for validating some of the trivial aspects of the space and hence would have successful in their voyage. The success at current might be greater than that of manned spacecrafts, but it cannot be proved that the success rate it going to stagnate at this substantial level. There might be cases where the unmanned spacecrafts would fail miserably compared to manned spacecrafts. Also, various tools and technologies must be learnt and also issues regarding transmitting of data wirelessly and precisely must be found out.

Though there is no risk in sending unmanned spacecrafts, compensating on reliability for risk is not a great trade off, hence, before putting into practice, the author must provide the claims with great facts and data’s supporting the claim. Thus, the authors claim requires a great deal of study and cannot be relied upon overtly. Hence the claims must be studied thoroughly and supported with facts before spending and investing our resources onto it.