Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium—substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily the argument is based on the unwarranted assumptions that are made by a group of people; that intake of rich in dairy products can cause an illness called osteoporosis and can also worsen the condition; the argument does not describe enough evidence on differentiating the pros and cons of milk -dairy products on one’s diet, rendering the main conclusion, which may be invalid.

The argument fails to provide proper justification- how osteoporosis is linked to milk and dairy products causing the bone fracture, it can be caused due to deficiency of other substances in a human body or one of the reasons can be- not enough exposure to the sun for Vitamin D can also lead to deficiency, a suggestion is not enough to justify the statement, and sabotaging the milk products itself for increasing the risk of osteoporosis.

The assumption stated by the author that many people state that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, but there is no evidence that it will prevent the disease to occur, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors, these factors can still happen and can cause disease when you are consuming the milk and dairy-rich diet and can cause the bones to weaken. There is no significant evidence to strengthen either of the assumption stated.

The argument claims without warrant that what is justified by a group of people is true without holding proper study and research. So even if we assume some assumptions made by the author to be true, the argument is still lacking because it does not provide information to justify the conclusion of bone fractures caused due to consistent intake of milk and dairy diet.