In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge

The statement claim that the imagination is more important than knowledge in the field of academic and other professions. I disagree with this statement insofar as knowledge is the primary element to imagine on particular topic. Without deep knowledge on the topic, it is not possible to think and imagine on the topic. And imagination is more likely invalid other than the expert's imagination. However, sometimes general person's imagination on a particular topic open an innovative idea and it help to rethink from different perspective.

First compelling argument in favor of my position is to think and imagine on a particular topic, knowledge is the raw material. Without the basic knowledge on this area it is hard to think because he do not know the basic mechanism. For example, in the area of electrical engineering, without knowledge on electrical engineering, general people never imagine on a particular topic because he have not a minimum knowledge on this. Even except expert, any person, know the basic in the area of electrical engineering, can not think or imagine. Because it is esoteric for all.

Another argument is without the knowledge, imagination is more likely invalided. Because this imagination have not any value to the society as he is not an expert on this. For example, if general person think on the quantum physics then his imagination is less likely to acceptable to all.

Moreover, deep knowledge is the main thing that foster for imagination on the topic. After gain knowledge properly on any area then it evoke to think on the problems and that foster to imagine to solve this.

However, sometimes imagination on any particular area help to foster gain knowledge and make a person more passionate on this area. Imagination also can open the door of innovation and think from different perspective. In some cases, in the field of academic imagination is more important than knowledge to develop the critical thinking abilities.

In conclusion, Knowledge is more important than imagination in the field of academic and others as proper knowledge is the raw material to imagine and without proper knowledge, mostly imagination is invalided. But it is not true that knowledge is the only stage to imagine. Imaginations in academic can foster to be passionate and enhance the deep learning capability. So imagination and knowledge both are important in any field. The combination of knowledge and imagination can help to reach to the better solution.