A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

"We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don't get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure."

The author states that, to make movie work and to improve its quality, they need to increase its funding by ten percent. There are few flaws in this argument.

First, the author assumes a casual relation between increase of funding for the movie and its quality product. This casual relation is purely on the basis of assumption,as author fails to provide any evidence or data as support for the cause and effect relation between quality of movie and reason for increased funding on movie.

Second, the author uses a generalization for a commercial advertisement director. Author generalizes the work of first-time director without giving evidence of any of his/her personal data or personal work.

Third, the author also assumes , that expenditure on extra fees of actors and unionized crew will be more than the cost saved by hiring inexperienced assistant producers and directors. Author fails to provide any data of expenditure and cost as evidence for this assumption.

In addition, author again states a casual relationship between extra funding for movie and assured failure of movie. Author again fails to provide any support for this casual relationship between funding and performance of movie.

In conclusion, author's argument is not well reasoned and lacking evidence and data. Author can make it logically acceptable by providing more detail on the relationship between quality,performance of movie and proposal of its increased funding.