A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor

The author suggests that, if a person becomes a criminal knowingly then he/she should not hold any civil rights and also he/she can't benefit from his/her labor. I agree with this claim of author of punishing the criminal and reparations need to be paid for setting an example in society.

First, if a person had committed a crime then that person should be punished for his/her crimes. when a person commits crime, it leads to injustice with someone else and that can effect other person's/group's/organisation's. For this, repairs need to be paid, with retaining civil rights and benefit from criminal's labor ,they cannot be repaid but can be taken into consideration

Second, if a person who committed crime is not punished it can set out imbalance in the whole society. With strict measures against the criminals, there will be fear maintained in society for committing such crimes. Also, according to statistical data, crimes are less in regions where there are strict punishment for crimes. So, using fear as a factor can help to keep crimes in control.

However, according to some human rights organization, if a criminal is punished in severe ways, that won't help criminals to turn to right path after their punishment is done.This suggestion of organisation can be only possible for the criminals who have done crimes, which had not affected someone's life or those crimes were done by total influence of surrounding. This suggestion will never be acceptable for the criminals who have done heinous crimes,they all need to be punished and there's no chance of civil rights for them.

In conclusion, any person who commits crime intentionally need to be punished and there's no chance of giving civil rights to them until their tenure of punishment is done. It is justice which maintains the balance in society.