The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of west lansburg. ancient record suggests that the tufted groundhog once were numbered in the millions. since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the western coastland has been prohibited . now local development interests are lobbying for the west lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of westlands. neighboring eastern carpentia , which had similar sanctuaries ,has been its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. in order to preserve the region's biodiversity and a healthy environment ,the west lansburg council should not allow the road to be built.

The author in this argument concludes that ,the west lansburg council should not allow the road to be built on the grounds of preserving biodiversity and healthy environment of region.The author presents the conclusion without any effective support.There are two major flaws in the argument.

Firsly,the argument specifies a causal relationship between development of road and maintaining biodiversity. Author states that building a road will affect the biodiversity of region,but author fails to give any such support or explanation that how the road on the edge of wetlands will affect the biodiversity and also the healthy environment of region.

In addition,author also uses an inadequate example of neighbouring eastern carpentia where the population of sea otter has declined since repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. Author fails to provide any evidences for the road that had been built in eastern carpentia and which had affected the population of sea otters. There can be many factors which had affected the population of sea otters in eastern carpentia, so the example of sea otter's decline in population cannot be taken as support for not building road to the edge of wetlands.

In sum; the conclusion of not building a road on wetlands cannot be reasonably drawn from the author's reasoning. The reasoning is not adequately explained and there's irrelevant example without proper support. The author could strengthen the argument by giving in depth evidences of how road will affect the biodiversity of region and for making argument more acceptable ,how road in other sanctuaries had affected their biodiversity and healthy environment.