"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The manager advocates resuming the amount of time allocated for weather and local news to the previous level because of the complaints from viewers and the cancellation of advertisements from local businesses companies. however, before taking any action, we should gather more information and approach the idea of making changes with more caution.

In the first place, a comprehensive survey on the opinion of viewers and local businesses toward the program's previous adjustment should be conducted. The memorandum reports viewers' concerns about the coverage of weather and local news. however, the nature of the complaints is not clear. Firstly, it is unknown how many viewers are not satisfied with the change. Furthermore, those complaints may actually demand more time for weather and local news than shortening those sections. Besides the complaints received, some of the audience may content with the arrangement but did not give feedback to the stations. hence, the station acquires information about how much the audience is unsatisfied and happy with the previous change. if such a survey is impossible, we should at least know about the detailed numbers of the complaints and their attitude toward the reduced time for weather and local news. Positive feedback will undermine the conclusion drawn by the business manager, and vice versa. Thus, our first step should be establishing the relationship between the viewer's dissatisfaction and the shortened time of local news and weather.

Another evidence that can benefit our analysis is the situation and opinion of the local businesses that canceled the advertisement. The cancellation may due to many reasons and it is too soon to blame the new arrangement of the program. For example, those companies may change their marketing strategies and were planning to advertise in early time-slots. Or, they are cutting the budgets on the advertisement. Given that many local businesses are withdrawing their advertisement, there could be external factors affecting their decision. In such a situation, resuming the original arrangement is not likely to attract them. On the other hand, if the decrease time for weather and local news is the reason why those companies canceled the advertisement, we should rewind the change.

The manager should also review research conducted to find ways to attract viewers. there are many ways to attract more views and the manager mention in the memorandum. Since television programs are a highly competitive market, sticking to the old strategy and format probably the ideal choice. Perhaps some viewers are turned into other stations where something in their programs have drawn their attention. other stations in the same time-slots may adapts new plans and invigorating themselves and are or soon will outperforming the shows. hence, data about the viewers' rating the different kinds of elements in the program and what genre received most applause from the audience should help the manager to make the decision.

hence, without further information on these aspects, the claim that restoring time allocation in the program can prevent losing advertisement is far-fetching.