'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager advocates resuming the amount of time allocated for weather and local news to the previous level because of the complaints from viewers and the cancellation of advertisements from local businesses companies. however, before taking any action, we should gather more information and approach the idea of making changes with more caution.

In the first place, a comprehensive survey on the opinion of viewers and local businesses toward the program's previous adjustment should be conducted. The memorandum reports viewers' concerns about the coverage of weather and local news. however, the nature of the complaints is not clear. Firstly, it is unknown how many viewers are not satisfied with the change. Furthermore, those complaints may actually demand more time for weather and local news than shortening those sections. Besides the complaints received, some of the audience may content with the arrangement but did not give feedback to the stations. hence, the station acquires information about how much the audience is unsatisfied and happy with the previous change. if such a survey is impossible, we should at least know about the detailed numbers of the complaints and their attitude toward the reduced time for weather and local news. Positive feedback will undermine the conclusion drawn by the business manager, and vice versa. Thus, our first step should be establishing the relationship between the viewer's dissatisfaction and the shortened time of local news and weather.

Another evidence that can benefit our analysis is the situation and opinion of the local businesses that canceled the advertisement. The cancellation may due to many reasons and it is too soon to blame the new arrangement of the program. For example, those companies may change their marketing strategies and were planning to advertise in early time-slots. Or, they are cutting the budgets on the advertisement. Given that many local businesses are withdrawing their advertisement, there could be external factors affecting their decision. In such a situation, resuming the original arrangement is not likely to attract them. On the other hand, if the decrease time for weather and local news is the reason why those companies canceled the advertisement, we should rewind the change.

The manager should also review research conducted to find ways to attract viewers. there are many ways to attract more views and the manager mention in the memorandum. Since television programs are a highly competitive market, sticking to the old strategy and format may not be the optimal choice. Perhaps some viewers are turned into other stations where something in their programs have drawn their attention. other stations in the same time-slots may adapts new plans and invigorating themselves and are or soon will outperforming the shows. hence, data about the viewers' rating the different kinds of elements in the program and what genre received most applause from the audience should help the manager to make the decision.

hence, without further information on these aspects, the claim that restoring time allocation in the program can prevent losing advertisement is far-fetching.