"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author, in the argument, concludes that the late-night program,to attract more viewers to the program, should restore the time devoted for the weather and local news. further, to support his assertion, the author points out that the number of complaints about the program's weather and local news coverage was increased over past year. also author gives another evidence that the local businesses had canceled their contract over that period. Based on these evidence the author's assertion seem to be well-reasoned and flawless; however, meticulous analysis shows that the author makes various unwarranted assumptions which if proves wrong may seriously undermine—or even invalidate—the author's assumptions.

firstly, the details about the viewers complaints is not presented in the argument. The author assumes that all the complains are about less time devoted to the weather and local news. Perhaps, the complaints are about the quality of the news. If the complaints are about the quality of the news—not about the devoted time to weather and local news—the authors conclusions is unjustified. The should be focused on providing more accurate news.

Second, the author need to research about the competitors because, what if the local business that used to advertise at late-night program find more famous television program? If so, the author's claim about restoring time devoted to the weather and local news would not bring the advertiser to recontract again.

Third, there is no gaurantee that applying the measures recommended by the author will bring the late-night programs popularity to the former level. The local businesses may not ready to recontract to the program once they canceled it because of they may not believe that the program will return to the form level of popularity.

finally, the author need to do a lot of further researches, such as the analysis of the complaints recieved, the competitors, etc., to make his/her conclusion valid.