Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The memorandum from the business manager agrue that increasing the time to weather and local news will atrract the more viewer and increase their revenues from advertising. He come to this conclusion on the basis of the viewers complain and cancellation of the local business advertisements. However, before recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, does the majority of the viewer are complaining about the coverage of weather and local news? Perhaps, only the minority of the program viewer complains about it. There is no mention of the number of complaints received and total number of the viewer. The most of the viewer might like the national news more than the local news. They might be worldly rather than myopic. If the above condition has merit, the conclusion drawn on this argument is weakened.

Secondly, is the complaint is about increasing devotion towards local news and weather coverage? Perhaps they complains about the quality of the news provided. The news program are not providing actual news about the weather, their forecast about the weather for coming days is not matching in reality. The local business owner might have cancel their advertisement due to poor advertising technique of the program management team. They advertising technique might not helping for increement of the reputation of the business. If above is true, the argument does not hold the water.

Lastly, does the devotion in the local news and weather coverage will increase the revenue? Can increement in the local news guranteed the more revenue generation. Perhaps the national business company cancels their advertisement in the late night programs due to their devotion in local news. The programs can lose their nation viewer at the expense of increement in local viewer. If above situation is true, the assumptions manager have made are flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is cosiderably flawed as it reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three question and offer more evidence, then it will be able to fully evaluate the recommendation offer by the manger of television station.