"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The argument that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news will attract more viewers and prevent losing advertising revenues might sound warranted at first glance but it seriouly lacks proper evidences to substantiate tthe argument.

Firstly the argument fails to explain what type of complaints were received. Though it is mentioned that complaints received were concerned with station's coverage of weather and local news, it fails to elucidate the specific concern, whether the timing, or the reporter or the duration was the issue.

In addition, the argument assumes that the advertisers cancels the contracts of their advertisement of local business because of the lack of local news and weather reports. Well, the evidence of exact reason of cancelling the contract is not known. It could be because of the increased tariff for advertisements or the staff behaviour with the concerned businessmen. It is also possible that the have found a better station which offers at a better tariff. It could also be likely that the duration of advertisement slot was not adequate which pushed the businessmen to move to a different television station.

The argument also assumes that restoring time which was originally devoted to local news and weather reports will attract more viewers and also avoid further loss of advertising revenues. This assumptions largely lacks any evidence for substantiation because viewers choose to watch a television channel based on various factors of which type of programs, timing and the usefulness of the programs and also the content of the program weighs the more. The ultimate point to be considered is, it is not one factor whic increases the viewers of ant television channel. The argument omits the fact that it is not likely that losing of advertising revenues depends on whether the time allotment for local news and weather reports resumes or not.

In conclusion the argument needs necessary evidence of the intial reason of reduction of time to weather and local news, the reasons of local businessmen cancelling the advertisement contracts. A public poll could help in providing necessary evidence for proper time segregation and whether to restore the time devoted to local news and weather.