Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Though the author's argument that so called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean sound reasonable at first glance, it is not based on adequate evidences and well explained terms. The first assumption that a particular distinct pattern woven baskets are made only by the Palean people itself is without strong evidences, because it also would have been made by other group of people around and their products weren't discovered. An evidence of mention in any for literature, drawings or stone carvings would have warranted the assumption that it were made Palean people also.

Secondly, the evidence of archaeologists discovered such a "Palean " baskets in Lithos, raises the question whether those were intentionally taken there or by any means of natural ways like flood. Just because it was found in the village of Lithos, it doesn't mean that it was only taken there by 'Palean' people.

Furthermore, the author mentions that the Brim River is very deep and broad which leads to the assumption that the 'Palean' people could have crossed only by boat and that no Palean boats have been found the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. This is an unwarranted assumption because of the possibilities that the Paleans could have used any different route to reach Lithos or they could have used boats and those would have been destroyed and carried away by any flood in the river.

Thus, the conclusion that woven baskets of a distinctive pattern is not of that Palean people alone is not based on adequate evidences.