"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The business manager of a television station shows concerns for losing viewers and as well as revenues that comes from local business. In this context he tries to correlate some dubious facts that fails to make the argument as compelling one.

It is true that nowadays televisions are facing competitive market and everydays new televsion stations are popping up. To maintain the position in this market and generate revenue there should be enough analysis before taking any decision and one must be strategic here.

It mentioned in the argument that late night program has devoted much time to national news and less time to weather and local news. Does the television station decrease its local and weather news report over all through out the day or only cut the time from night program. Is there any other separate program which focus on local news or weather report ? In that case viewers should be notified about that. It is also very important to take feedback from the viewers if that program timing is suitable to them.

The television station is receiving complaints from the viewers egarding the late-night program. What are the complaints exactly ? Don't they want to watch national news at all or they are they are not happy with the content with the national news. It may happen that they tune other television station for national news and for local and weather report opt for this station. Or it may be also the case that during that time viewers want to watch local and weather reporting. A survey from viewers is important to analyze from which age group these complaints are coming , what type of program they want to watch that time etc.

The business manager also highlighted the decrement in business advertisement which will deter the revenue of the television station. He assumes that by broadcasting local ews ans weather report , it would be easier to get advertisement. It may not be true always. Have the manager studied the market for other television station advertisement rate. Until unless having the exaustive report it can not be assumed .

In conclusion , a proper market study and survey is important before taking any decision. Viewers are the core part of a television station and revebue is the fuel for any organizion. Without having above mentioned doubts clear , the television station should not take any decision.