Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

In this news report, the reporter claimed that the ancient people were eating a special type of bone which was a great source of nutrition. Moreover, he mentions the statements of two groups where one group mentions the positive impact of the bone, and another group gives the opposite view. Finally, he wrote that current people should follow ancient people's diet systems for a healthy life. To me, the claims are unsupported for several reasons. I will explain them one by one.

Firstly, processed foods usually prepare for taste and for the customer. So, processed soup is not comparable to natural food. Perhaps, in ancient times the animals were able to attain more nutrition from natural foods than this time. So, their bones could have absorbed more nutrition.

Secondly, The author did not give any expert reference about the nutrients of cartilage and chondroitin. Without proper medical review, we can not accept these vague statements. In addition, skeptics point out with respect to which source or references. In the report, the reporter only wrote a simple statement of those people who unsupported that cartilage and chondroitin have no special nutrition impact. Perhaps the skeptic's report published in a lower impact factor journal.

Thirdly, The reporter did not explain about which chemical ingredient of bone a human body can achieve herd immunity. Without a deep study of ancient people's diet, we can not follow their diet process. Maybe the natural foods of ancient times had more nutrition than the current time. Perhaps, for industrialization human beings have lost the natural source and quality of nutrition.