Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument provided fails to provide ample scientific and statistical evidence to corroborate their claims of the health benefits associated with Paleo diet.

The foremost claim of how our human bodies have evolved to eat Paleo food is shallow because there is a lot of specific food items and even non-food items which can be easily dissected by our arduos digestive system. Just because there are no ill effects associated with the ingestion of a particular food, doesn't imply that the food is good on our health. Besides, before the advent of agriculture, humans were dependent on animal flesh and it's byproducts due to it's alleviating effects, but more because of survival and the lack of farming and the dependence on vegetation as a source of food. To justify the assertion, there need to be instances of food which our digestive couldn't adjust because the of ill effects linked with the food.

The belief on the health-promoting nutrients present in the food such as cartilage is the second fallacy. The cartilage will be made out of nutrients and minerals which were necessary for the correct function of animal's body. It is not clear whether the nutrients which are healing the animals will be same which are required to cure an abnormality in a human body. The healing effect on the human body are only, devoid of any empirical evidence as the critics of the belief have pointed out.

Anecdotes cannnot be the basis for stating facts. Insights should be derived from data. There are two groups of people: one who consume Paleo diet and the ones who do not. A person following a particular health regime is prone to take good care of his overall body and exercise more frequently. These secondary factors will surely add to the overall well being of the individual. Also, the food mentioned in the Paleo diet is uncommon and is more likely to be consumed by a more higher class of people who have better medical facilities at their disposal which could prevent the metabollic and inflammatory diseases mentioned by the proponents of Paleo diet. So this disparity between the people who consume and the category which abstains from Paleo diet could easily explain the origins of the anecdote. A unbiased randomised trail is required to prove the aforementioned assertion, wherein the category of people, age and the initial health of the individuals is similar. This statistical evidence could actually make or break the anecdote.

In conclusion, we have a group of people advocating a particular diet change based on unproved and skeptical assertions which need a lot more scientific introspection.