Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

In the argument, it is stated by the author that following a hominid like Paleo diet, will cure many chronic illnesses, and that the benefits of such diets were perhaps foreseen by our ancient human ancestors. To support this argument, the author refers to a correlation between Paleo diet followers and a reduced presence of metabolic and inflammatory diseases in them. However, before the conclusion can be evaluated, the author has to provide evidence to nullify the following unstated assumptions.

First of all, were human ancestors really able to see benefits in their diet, which modern humans could not identify until recently? Perhaps, isn't it plausible that early human diet was so primitive in nature, that our ancestors consumed whatever they could, and hence could have included animal bones, cartilages etc. as well in their diet while scavenging for food? It's also possible that these were the sources of food most readily available to hominids back then, and hence could have led to their more frequent consumption. If that is the case indeed, it could weaken the argument's stance that early hominids were in fact more knowledgeable than modern humans( in at least some part of our physiology).

Secondly, how effective can the diet prove to a larger section of the population? The author mentions scientific evidence supporting the Paleo diet consumer's benefits of having the diet, but does not mention the sample space of the generalization. It could have been that only a few people were part of this study, and perhaps a larger scale study might reveal results contradictory to the author's conclusion. Maybe, the individuals under the study had an exclusive population of unhealthy individuals leaning more on the normal diet followers' side .If that holds true, the argument is severely flawed for assuming Paleo diet benefitting a large section of the population.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is severely flawed as it relies on many assumptions, like the ones stated above. If the author is able to provide further evidence, and answer the questions presented in the above paragraphs, then perhaps the conclusion of this argument could be studied more thoroughly and might be providing some useful insight. Until then, the author's conclusive statements will be heavily debatable.