Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

History is replete with numerous examples of illustrious men who were great leaders not because they were morally just but because they respected the sentiments of their peers. I, strongly agree with the author's opinion that a strong and effective leader primarily needs to respect his or her peers, then come in sound moral judgement. And this fact can be well established if we walk down memory lane.

Primarily, to become a leader your peers and followers need to give you the power to lead. They should believe in you as their guide, trust you for your decisions and have faith in your actions which they should perceive are in their own favour but the morality of those actions might not concern each and every follower. As many a times followers inherently become like sheeps and they do not care to critically analyse or question their leader. The most controversial yet veracious example of that of Hitler. Hitler rose to power for all wrong reasons. His claim of Aryans as the superior race which needed protection made his peers believe that he respects their identity over all others and they became loyalists, so much so that when his hatred for the Jews had become gruesome and unthinkable, yet his followers did not leave his side and believed in his perspective so much so as to become morally corrupt. History has numerous examples of dictators who were in fact leaders and respected among majoritarian groups of their time even if they were contemptuous toward other groups; they gained the trust of the former group and rose to power.

"An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind", quoted by a much celebrated leader of all times, Mahatma Gandhi. When we consider Gandhi, he is a prime example of a leader with great moral principles. But was it was not hos moral principles that caused Pre-Independence India to follow him but his ability to unite all factions of the society as he respected one and all and made them feel valued and treasured. Moral judgement is often than not ambivalent. Also maintaining univocal moral principles in changing times is not effective even for a leader. A leader should be sound enough in judgement and evolve with time. The judgement should be focused on the benefits and growth of his or her peers.

Ashoka the Great is much celebrated as a very righteous king. But in his early life to the point of Kalinga war his morality is questionable, as moral principles are bound to change in the journey of life where we are ever evolving.

Therefore, moral judgement though important is not the key attribute of a leader. A leader should be able to maintain the respect of his or her peers as that is what in the first place has enabled the leader to lead. Morality can be altered with time and also sound moral judgement for one might not be sound for another. Thereby moral principles can all but define the path of leadership whether the leader will lead people down the good road or bad but moral principles have a very minute role in leadership itself or its effectiveness