People should not be misled by the advertising competition between Coldex and Cold-Away, both popular over-the-counter cold medications that anyone can purchase without a doctor's prescription. Each brand is accusing the other of causing some well-known, unwanted side effect: Coldex is known to contribute to existing high blood pressure and Cold-Away is known to cause drowsiness. But the choice should be clear for most health-conscious people: Cold-Away has been on the market for much longer and is used by more hospitals than is Coldex. Clearly, Cold-Away is more effective

The conclusion might seem logical and convincing at first glance. However, a more critical analysis of the justification supplied by the author that choice should be clear for most health - conscious people, since cold - away has been on the market for longer period. Moreover, its been advised by more hospitals compare to coldex. The premises in their current form are not cogent - the reinforcements of the argument are fragile and they are rife with fallacies. To rigorously evaluate, the must give additional evidence. Therefore, ideas cited in premises leads to assumptions that are feeble and susceptible to attack.

To begin with, the authors conclusion that cold - away is more effective is not efficient, according to the author cold away is a well established company and has been in market for long time. So, new company to accuse a old company. It must have some substantial proof nonetheless, it would be fined harshly by authorities, if the claims are fallacies. Authors ruling out these claim with deep scrutinizing is not rational.

Secondly, there is no compulsion that if a tablet is been on market for many years is better in comparison. However, it is proved in all fields that advancements happen and new technology replaces the other. For instance, Aspirin was used for viral fever, for long time and people believed it was the best medicine with few side affects. While on the usage of the tablet for prolonged time revealed that it effects kidneys. Later, it was replaced by paracetamol. It has few side affects and can be used for longer period.

Thirdly, the premise that the tablet has been used by more hospitals has unwarranted assumptions. Since, the hospitals these days have become commercial especially private hospitals. They think it as service and not service for humanity. The same type of tablets are manufactured by different companies, so they prefer those tablets that provide huge profits to their hospital. Moreover, being an old company it would have more grip over the market if the profit percentage is same.

Lastly, it must be noted that and not taking an legal action against the coldex, it is accusing cold- away that it causes drowsiness. Moreover, severe action must be taken against both the companies since they have social responsibility and taking it to casually and blaming each other. Company must give a tablet with minimum side effects and all the possible side effects must be mentioned along with it.

To sum up, the authors argument is based on unconfirmed premises and unsubstantiated assumptions. It could have been more convincing and cogent. Hence, the argue provides scant evidence in support of the conclusion made by him, thereby rendering the argument indefensible.