A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The argument concludes that the regular dental care is not helping in preventing tooth decay based on only factor that the people in Himalayan region in Nepal have better dental health despite of less privilege to regular dental checkup. However, it is lacking the extent of other factors that is promoting the dental health in Himalayan people and those deteriorating health in people in suburban United States.

Food habits plays a major role in people dental health. People who eat healthy and consume few sugars in their food tends to have low levels of tooth decay. Organic foods promotes health and makes body immune to various germs and helps in making human body stronger. Consumption of meat in excess amounts deteriorate tooth. It does not state any information about the food habits of the people. Moreover, eating habits plays a significant role in dental health. Eating at the particular intervals of time and not consuming food before two hours of sleeping time and also good habits like brushing teeth twice in a day-mornings and evenings helps a lot in promoting dental health. The argument does not state any relation between the food habits, eating habits and brushing habits of people from both the places.

Argument does not state any relationship between the climatic conditions and immunity towards particular germs in the region. For instance, people living in tropical regions are immune to malaria whereas people living near arctic poles not. The people living in Himalayan regions might be immune to the germs that help in decaying tooth whereas people in United nations not. Depending on the minerals and nutrients they consume from air, water and other natural resources and also depending on the genetics the people get immune to many germs, viruses.

Hence, the argument lacks in justifying the conclusion that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay as it fails to provide evidence to support and lacks relations in many aspects when comparing people from two different places.