In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The survey argues that the city government should invest in riverside recreational activities and should include the plan in budget assuming that the usage of river for water sports will increase as the state has announced plans to clean up Mason River. However, it fails to lists evidences for the rise in usage and intersests of people in the river. It surely has following fallacies.

The survey did not provide any details about the flow conditions, depths and hazards in the river, also weather in the centre of the river. The river may be dangerous for the water sports which includes rafting because sometimes the flow might be unpredictable resulting in the loss of many lives. The survey clearly stated that the residents are interested in water sports but also stated they seldom used the river for that purpose. Hazardous conditions of the river and unpredictible flow of water might be one of the reasons. Moreover, there is information on the weather whether it is favourable for the people to enjoy sports therre.

Moreover, peoples' lives may be endangered if there are some dangerous water animals such as crocodiles, water snakes. Survey did not provide any information on water animals failing to provide evidence that the people use the river for recreation. Knowing the danger from these animals, people might have rarely used the river for the sports. Moreover, there may be algae and water plants that might bind and crush people touching them like veins. Even, the information on the plant growth in the river is not stated in the survey failing to provide the evidence.

The survey stated that the water sports ranked as their favourite recreational activities for the city residents but it is giving any proof that the same sport remains favorite among the people for the coming years. They may get fascinated by other sports such as sky-diving or hot-air-ballon which are available to them in the city instead of waiting for the river to clean up. Or they might get interested in video games and robotic games due to advancements in technology. There is no evidence of only development in riverside sports in the survey clearly lacking the proof for its argumeny.

To recapitulate, the arguments clearly lacks to provide evidences to prove the survey report is correct as it has many logical fallacies.