A recently issued twenty year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are the members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

The argument predicts that the residents of Mentia would suffer fewer headaches in the future if they consume salicylates, which have a similar chemical composition as Aspirin, which is a medicine used to treat headaches. Also the study states that the average number of headaches reported by study participants decreased after consuming salicylates in food products. I find these points not as effective as to think that through salicylates, the residents of Mentia will have lesser amount of headaches in the future.

Firstly, there can be various other reasons because of which there was a decline in the amount of headaches in the last twenty years. There might be a decrease in workload for the residents of Mentia which affected the residents’ mental load and we saw a decrease in the number of headaches. So barely giving the credit to the consumption of salicylates is too idealistic.

Secondly, just because the chemical composition of Salicylates is similar to Aspirin does not mean that it will have a similar effect on an individual’s body. Even a slightest change in chemical compound may entirely change the chemical’s properties and hence one cannot conclude that salicylates would also help in treating a person’s headache.

Thirdly, even if salicylates do help in treating headaches, it also depends that with which type of food we are taking it. There is a chance that it may effect differently with different type of food. It may help in pacifying headaches with a sweet food while it may act adversely with spicy food. So it would be irresponsible to use it haphazardly and may effect in an ambivalent way.

Lastly, chemical compounds have their own side effects on a body. As the paragraph suggests, many food processing companies have started using salicylates in food items, too much intake of salicylates might produce severe side effects and one of the might even be headache. So there is a possibility that there would be more number of headaches in a long term future because of the consumption of salicylates.

In conclusion, the argument is unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the study must show all the properties of salicylates along with it’s side effects’ how would it react with different food items and it must provide evidence that salicylates were the only factor that helped in mollifying the headaches of the residents of Mentia.