“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

The argument which appeared in a newspaper editorial, states that any country autonomy is based upon its borders strength and illegal immigrants pose threats to country's economy and nation identity and urge that every possible efforts must be made to send back illegal immigrants to their country of origin. Though, this piece of agrument appeared in a newspaper editorial states a few reason to send back illegal immigrants back to their country, the argument is primarily based on three unstated assumptions which the author made before reasoning out for sending back illegal immigrants.

Firstly, the opening section of the argument says that the autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders, here, the author made an assumption that the entry of illegal immigrants to any country can hold such power as to rule over the other country, thereby hampering its autonomy. Even if few illegal immigrants enter the country by some means, the strength of any country may not be endangered. If we take United States for instance, it is true that the immigrants policy is very strict and properly mananged, but still suppose a family somehow managed to enter the boarder of United states and may settled there, they can't ruin or make a significant impact to country's economy or national identity and the effort that may be made after to put a check on all and then sending them back may impact the economy more. Though, it is correct that such illegal immigation is wrong and should be checked but the affect of immigation on country's economy or identity is not applicable to all countries.

Furthermore, the author assumes that economy and national identity of country can be endangered, just by illegal immigrants, again this is not applicable to all countries, yes if a counries population is low and a lot of illegal immigrants are coming then it is going to endanger the country's national identity but suppose if it is country like India or China, even if 100 of immigrants are there, it is going to put almost a neligible impact on the country's identity. A country is not known why its immigrants poulations and this is largely depend on the ration of immigrants to country population.

Lastly, the author assumes that sending back the illegal immigrants is the solution to this problem. It is assumed that the intention of each one of them are bad. Suppose hundreds and hundereds years back if their grandparents entered the country illegally and now their children are living there and are proving out to be profilic to the country, then sending them back to their own country is not a prudent way to deal with this situation.

In conclusion, if the author that given more of stated information about the above mentioned assumptions, the conclusion in the arguments might have been supported better with better reasons towards sending back the illegal immigrants and how this process will overall pacify the economy or identity.