Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

As the argument tells that health and stair usage is interconnected according to several studies. But the argument fails on many fronts, as to explain the link between health and stair usage and other facts stated in it.

Firstly, the recent study which is completed shows that people are having a better health condition who live in stairs only apartment compared to people who live apartments which has both stairs and elevator. This point is faulty on many strata. The study which was conducted may be done in an area or in accordance with the people who have apartments with only stairs or with both stairs and elevators. But here the conclusion has been generalized for all people. Consider a lavish city or town where all the apartments have stairs and elevators both, but there too people have good health conditions. It also depends on the environment, eating habits of people, work life balance of the people considered in the study. Maybe the people considered in the study who live in only stairs apartment with healthy compared to people who live in apartment which has both stairs and elevator. Maybe work life balance is not present in the people taken in the study, due to high octane work environment.

Secondly, the second study as stated by the argument shows that elderly persons who have stairs only in their building, visit the doctors more frequently. This statement is based on false assumptions. It can be the case that, the elderly people who live in stairs only apartments considered in the survey are having more vulnerable ailments which needs to be attended frequently by the doctor, but the other elderly people who live in apartments consisting of both stairs and elevator may have ailments which are not that severe. Hence, they visit the doctor less frequently.

Thirdly, the point being said here about how residents of stairs only buildings have scored more on questionnaires administered to new patients. Again, here the conclusion is generalized. For instance, it may be the case that the people considered here maybe of age group of under 20 i.e children. Generally, for kinds the basic criteria of fitness, sleep quality etc. is mostly good. So here the age group of people considered in this survey is not stated. Because if the survey was performed considering a different age group for example, 22 - 50. Then here there is a high chance that quality of sleep, fitness can be an issue in most cases.

Finally, it is true that exercise is important for health, but exercise as considered in this argument only related to stairs is not effective at all. Because when people want to exercise, they hit the gym or go running in parks etc. Another point is in this fast-paced world the use of stairs is less due to exacting needs maybe from your employer or many other cases. As to attend things in time people consider elevators as the easy choice compared to stairs.

In conclusion, plethora of unwarranted assumptions have been considered. Because for each scenario the conclusion has been generalized, not keeping the factor in mind that for a survey to hold true in every case, may factors like environment, eating habits of people, work life balance, exercise routine all this should be considered for people of various areas.