Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that the morality of the action is measured by the amount of good and the bad that the action does. he says, the action is morally correct if there are more good results of the action than the bad consequences. I partially agree with the author's claim because of the following reasons.

First, if an action is producing negative effects on the environment, then I would say it is a bad action. Whatever may be the good consequences the action produces as long as there is some suffering happens. For example, if an interviewee lied about some of the projects in the resume, consequently he gets hired for the job. later, in the job he may not be properly skilled to do that particular job for which he was hired, which might cause damage to the productivity of the company. here, lying of the person has a serious corollary on the company, which sometimes leads to loss in millions of dollors to the company. Moreover, he might be the reason for some other potential candidate to not get hired for the job. sometimes, our moral actions might seem harmless, but can have huge negative impact in the later stages.

Second, one should be able to assess the consequences before doing something wrong. if someone cannot evade doing wrong, or the outcome of doing something against the accepted decorum, he/she should be able to measure all the possible outcomes and weight the impact. To illustrate, it is not morally correct to jump a signal, or skip a queue. However, if there is an emergency situation and also the roads are empty, though it is against the accepted norms, it is okay it jump the signal in this case. As the pros are out numbered by the cons in the above mentioned example. one should always measure all the possible consequences before doing something wrong, or something against the accepted morals.

Finally, there might be cases where there is no harm whatsoever. For example, a baby is not having food for some random reason. The parent can lie to the kid, inorder for the kid to have the food. In this case, though lying is against accepted decorum, it is okay to lie to the kid, as there are no cons at all. The consequence of lying here is the kid having the food, which is a good outcome of a bad action.

However, one might argue that an action is always morally correct if the good results are outnumbered by the bad. I do not completely argue with them, but the size of the impact should be measured before performing the action. it does not always hold true. it depends on the situation and the impact of the action. but in my view, it is always better to stick to the accepted morals of the society to live in the society harmoniously.

In conclusion, the definition of an action to be morally correct cannot be formulised, but it should be assessed case by case basis. The morality of an action always depends on the collolaries of the action. Hence, I partially disagree with the action.