Super Screen

In this argument, the author recommends that the Super Screen should devote more financial budget into advertising, to effectively promulgate their movies to the public. To justify this conclusion, the author points out the facts that fewer people watched Super Screen movies last year while more positive reviews of particular movies increased. Furthermore, he or she assumes that the reason is the lack of awareness of good quality among prospective viewers. It seems convincing at first glance. However, with some implicit holes and some unanswered questions, this argument may be not strong enough to lead to the previous recommendation.

First, what is the exact amount of positive reviewers last year? The author failed to provide more reliable evidence regarding the numbers of reviewers who wrote positive reviews, to make a comparison with the number of people who attended their movies. If the latter are far more than the former, this means that the increase of positive reviewers are meaningless compared with the total number. Perhaps there were only less than 100 people who liked to watch some specific movies. This level of increasing number cannot be regarded as a factor to measure whether these movies are more popular. Therefore the author ought to provide more evidence to answer this essential question. If not, this reason may not convince me.

Second, even though there a big number of positive reviewers increasing last year, what is proportion of people among total number who are really like the movies? Perhaps they are satisfied with the service of the cinema or they just feel that the seat make them comfortable, I will safely assumes that they will be willing to give a positive reviews to this enjoyable experience. So, if the author provide more evidences to persuade me that they are really attractive with the movies rather other environment issues, I will be more convinced.

Finally, what is the reason why these positive reviewers didn't attend other movies? Just because they didn't know them? Close analysis of the author's assumption, he or she may think so. But it may be less possible that these movie fans didn't aware the other movies while they had attended specific movies. On the contrary, it is more likely that they were reluctant to watch other movies for some reasons, maybe too boring or bad skills of directing. So, if the author can make me convinced that these people didn't aware them so they overlooked some of them, this argument will be significantly strengthened.

To sum up, as I pointed out before, the argument is based on the lacking of certain unanswered questions and unwarranted assumptions. To bolster this argument, the author might provide more evidence regarding the real reviews about movies by these fans and their exact number, as well as the reason why they didn't attend other movies. Maybe doing a research is good choice for the cinema company.