In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Mason river flows through the city and there have been complaints regarding the quality of the water and the river's smell. So states have announced that they plan to clean up the river and this will increase the usage of the river for water sports. So, the city government should allocate more budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Quite a few assumptions are made here.

First of all, Just by cleaning up river will increaser the river usage for water sports is a blind assumption. There could be multiple reasons which can lead to the increased usage of the river for water sports than just cleaning up the river. There can be no other entertainment in Mason city such as Malls and play areas. Mason city could be lacking in amusement water parks which could be the reasons which are driving people to the Mason riverside. If there are no other recreational activities in Mason city, residents of the city will obviously be inclined in using what is nearest to them which is the Mason river as it flows through the city.

The second Assumption is based on the survey it is said that Mason city residents rank water sports high among their favorite recreational activities. Here question that comes to my mind is, How authentic is this Survey? And how many people were surveyed? If it is only in hundreds then it can be certainly said that the entire city is inclined towards water sports and water related recreational activities. There can be other entertainment recreational activities the majority of Mason City residents would be liking. For example Movies, Malls, Amusement parks, etc.

The government should consider all of the above statements to decide whether it should devote more money to water recreational activities. And the government should also think if there are any other recreational sports or activities that can be more profitable for Mason City’s growth and useful to Mason City residents such as making big parks or malls.

So because of the above assumption, this argument fails to make a valid reason to increase more money for riverside recreational activities.