In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The author's arguement avers that a cleaner river will corralate to an increase in water sports within the Mason River. This premise is used to bolster the recommendation that the city government should devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facililities. While the arguement does not intimate at having a bad agenda, there are unwarranted assumptions that need to be considered.

To begin with, the author presents a slight contradiction by juxstaposing recreational facililities and recreational activities . The latter needs a trenchant explanation in order to lend itself as evidence to expand a budget. Are the preferred activities of the residents a priority based on use or do they simply like to watch these sports live, or on TV? If the residents only enjoy watching the water sports then a cleaner river would not result in an increase in use. Moreover, the author supposses that the facility should be a focus to the city without considering that residents might not parttake in sports regardless of it's cleanliness.

Additionally, the arguement assumes that the budget is not sufficient. It needs to be considered that perhaps the Mason River does not call for a big portion of the city's budget in order to maintain it's cleanliness. The arguement needs more evidence as to how the budget is currently lacking and how an increase would directly effect the cleanliness of the river. In fact, it could be that the smell does not corralate to the pollution of the river. Many waterbeds in our planet, such as rivers, lakes, and ponds, contain trace amounts of minerals that give of effluvium. No increase could ameliorate a natural scent that is embeded in the composition of that type of water.

Finally, the complaints that the city is receiving are not explicity tied to the Mason City residents who enjoy recreational activities. There needs to be more transperancy as to the connection of who is complaining and who would benefit directly from a cleaner river. It could be that the residents who are complaing do not even enjoy partaking in sports. Perhaps there is a stagnant participation by noncomplaining residents. Therefore, a cleaner river would not change the population who is enjoying the river.

To conclude, the argument above needs to consider it's assumption on residents and budget in order to request an policy change. While it does share data released from a survery, it is not enough to back up their arguement. We must first see a direct corralation to interested resident who enjoy partaking in water sports within the Mason river.