College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

For most of us, our goal in life is to not only be successful in our work but also to be content with what we do. In today’s day and age, stress levels of the individuals working in corporate, mundane jobs have increased. A lot of working adults fall into depression and have anxiety because of their jobs. On the other hand, individuals working on their passion, always seem to be so happy and content with life. If college students choose to pursue the subjects they are interested in and sharpen their skills in those particular subjects, they will eventually get a job they like and also enjoy practicing their passion. Hence, I agree with the statement.

As a college student who has no choice in deciding what subjects I get to choose, attending college everyday feels extremely tiresome and boring. It is also very hard to enjoy learning something you have no liking for. There are many students who neglect college due to its taxing nature. Many students fail their exams because of this. Students also deal with a lot of stress, anxiety and depression. Nobody likes being forced to do something that they do not enjoy. Exam pressure leads to a lot of stress and after putting in all that hard work trying to achieve a decent grade, if one eventually fails, it is bound to demotivate him or her. This pattern slowly becomes a cycle and students end up having depression, that goes all the way into the jobs they work at.

I do believe that if students are allowed to choose the subjects they genuinely want to pursue or learn, these problems that hinder students from learning will vanish. Introducing maybe one or two elective subjects apart from the regular curriculum which students can choose, will surely encourage the students to show up to college and learn the subjects they actually enjoy. In doing so, the students will be motivated to participate in class. As students start doing better in the subjects they are interested in, it will motivate them to learn and aim for better grades in other subjects as well. This will lead to an all-round positive development of the student.

Finally, when they are working, individuals will enjoy and appreciate doing the things they love. Even though, statistics show that niche jobs do not pay well and you do need some important courses to have jobs that pay well, I would argue that having a job that makes you happy and content with life is far more important that having a job that just pays well and disrupts your mental peace.