The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The greatest nations that ever existed in history were mostly lead by great leaders, but in my opinion, a nation can only be great, if all its citizens are provided with all the basic needs, life without war and a milieu where peace and humanity is of utmost importance. A country leader may have many achievements, but until those achievements directly reflect the welfare of the country and progress of a country, I personally cannot title the country as a ‘great nation.’ I would like to support my stance with a couple of examples.

First of all, two of the ‘great countries’ in my opinion are the United States of America and England. These are great countries because, as an outsider, I see the advancement in these nations, and with a direct comparison to my country, India, they are far more developed. These countries have good residential areas, the largest economies, proper healthcare and so many advantages to living there. But when you change your perspective, and look towards the recent leaders of these counties, such as ex- president Donald Trump and President Joe Biden in the USA, or the two most recent prime ministers of England, Boris Johnson and Liz Truss, we can easily notice how poorly they performed in further developing their nations. Mr. Donald Trump had a lot of scandals and right wing views, but even during his term of presidency, the USA still kept its title as one of the greatest nations. Another example is that of ex-prime minister of England, Liz Truss. The economy of England, was coming down rapidly and Liz Truss failed to keep her promises of delivering certain mandates, which would improve England’s condition, this even led her to resign from her position. Even after having incompetent leaders, these nations have still stood as global powers, all because of their constitutions, which keep the country’s welfare at the forefront.

On the other hand, we have President Vladmir Putin of Russia, who was determined to acquire land from the Ukraine, which he believed should rightfully be under Russia. To get back the land waged war with the Ukraine, putting citizens of both the counties in harm’s way. Even though he managed to acquire some of the land and lead the war, which was an achievement for him and his parliament, he is responsible for the deaths of a lot of people. This is the prime example of the achievements of the leaders of a nation don’t attribute to the nation being great, but it is the condition and welfare of the citizens that makes it great.

Nevertheless, I do partially agree that, some leaders who work towards the development of their country and help the country advance are also somewhat responsible for their nation being great. But I do still stand firm upon my stance of the issue. A great nation constitutes of the people of the country who make it great, by living in peace and harmony, and always looking forward to a better future.