The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

In the letter to the editor, it is suggested that the West Lansburg council to deny the construction of road along the edge of wetlands. The author has come to this conclusion based on the evidence of declining number of sea otter in Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria santuary. While the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, however certain evidences are needed to make the argument overly persuasive.

Firslty, the author is pleading the conclusion on the situation of sea otter in the neighboring santuary, but no specific data about the population of the sea otter is provided. Perhaps the decline of the number of sea otter was due to the a disease among the otters. The disease may have cause the otter to suffer a lot because of which they may have lost a lot of younger generations which were to reproduced and maintain their population. If in our case we built road along the edge of wetlands it is possible to save the tufted groundhog from such a similar outbreak of disease. If the above scenarios have merit, it dramatically weaken the conclusion of the author, hence more specific evidence(like a survey of region) on the declining population of sea otter is needed to make the argument stronger.

Secondly, the road may not even be cause to worry if the groundhog never pay visits near it. It is possible that the department is going to construct the road in such a location that it is unnoticable to the groundhogs and their will be rarely any human intervention in the regions where the groundhogs mostly lives. The author never mentions about the specific location of the building of road and hence the conclusion that the road should not be built rests on unspoken truths. If the author may provide more evidence on the location of the road then it is possible to come to such a conclusion.

Lastly, the author assumes that the biodiversity and healthy environment of in the region will be preserved. Perhaps the building of road may bring people to the notice of the environmental hazzards incoming in the region and the possibility to preserve biodiversity may even increasing by building of the road. However, the evidence that the biodiversity will be preserved is not provided because of which the argument does not hold water.

Although the author may bot have evaluated the given situation in its entirety, the conclusion and information associated with it cannot be written off either. There is no smoke without fire and the author must have had compelling reasons to make such a strong conclusion, however the reasons are not mentioined here, hence the argument does not hold water. More evidence is needed to make the given argument stronger.