Tusk University should build a new recreational facility, both to attract new students and to better serve the needs of our current student body. Tusk projects that enrollment will double over the next 10years, based on current trends. The new student body is expected to reflect a much higher percentage of commuter students than we currently enroll. This will make the existing facilities inadequate. Moreover, the cost of health and recreation club membership in our community has increased rapidly in recent years. Thus, students will find it much more advantageous to make use of the facilities on campus. Finally, an attractive new recreation center would make prospective students, especially athletically gifted ones, more likely to enroll at Tusk.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that a new recreational facility will attract new students and better serve the needs of the current study body may seem logical at first glance. However, the author relies on unsupported assumption that enrollment will double in the next 10 years and an attractive new recreation would attract new students to enroll. Therefore, this argument is fundamentally flawed and unconvincing.

First, the author assumes that a recreational facility is an important criterion for students looking to enroll in new schools. Students might want to enroll in a new school for a number of reasons; For example, the academic standard, rank, or any other reason. There is no proof to show that creating a new recreational facility is the only reason people consider when deciding on a new school to attend. The author did not indicate if creating a new recreational center has been a major contributor to the increased population of another institution.

Also, the author makes a bold assumption that enrollment in the school will double in the next 10 years based on the current trends. By the current trends, there is no assurance of what the author means, could he mean the recreational facility current trend or something else? There is no assurance that people will still consider the factors they consider now when making their choice of enrollment in 10 years. Furthermore, the author claims that there is an increase in the cost of health and club membership in the community and that this increase will make the institution more advantageous to the students. While this might be true, there is no proof that the current users of the community health and club members are students or prospective students. The users of these facilities might not be community members who are not students or even prospective students. The users might even be athletes and this makes the author’s prediction wrong.

The author concluded on based on a lot of assumptions which are crucial to the validity of this argument. The writer failed to establish a valid connection on how the recreational facility truly influence the decision of the students. Also, the author assumed that decisions on schools in 10 years will still be made based on the current trend.