"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be possible that an interview-centred approach might be superior to an observation-centred one, in the scope of the child rearing traditions of isolated cultures, the author does not make a solid case about his opinions.

Firstly, the statement that children are reared by the village in Tertia might not paint a complete picture, as it makes it seem like there’s absolutely no difference between a biological parent and the rest of the community. It is entirely possible that Tertia has a very small community of people, and as is the case in small communities, there must be significant fraternization within the community. This can seemingly paint a picture of children being raised by the community without special privileges being afforded to the biological parents, when it’s more akin to a child living in a large family. It is likely the parents still are the closest to the child, but the rest of the village is extremely close too, and everyone in this close knit plays a vital role in rearing the child.

Moreover, the method followed of interviewing the children might have its own set of shortcomings. The author most likely designed the questionnaire. This questionnaire thus might reflect his own biases and expectations. Even if the author might not have meant to be biased, a stark difference of cultures and a poor understanding of the subjects being interviewed can give rise to biased sets of questions.

Even the inference of the children speaking most about their parents cannot be spun off into a refutation of Dr. Field’s observations. As mentioned, even if the parents are the child’s primary caregivers, the rest of the community can certainly play a crucial role in child rearing too. The child will still associate with his biological parents, but that still means it is being raised by a small community.

Thus, as it stands, it is not right to conclude that an observation centred approach is inferior to an interview centred one, and thus the author’s arguments for the same are not convincing enough.