The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the recommendation sent by vice president, to company’s president it is suggested that, in an effort to improve employees productivity electronic monitoring should be implemented to keep an eye on their internet activity. However before implementing this recommendation couple of question must be answer.

First of all, how to identify the employee who is using internet for companies work or for his personal use? Maybe employee is accessing his or her email to send reports to higher authority or he or she is using internet to get information about products sold in market by accessing some shopping website. Further there is a possibility that employee is visiting other sites on internet to get updates about companies progress. If either of these possibilities are true, than conclusion drawn from his recommendation is not supported.

Secondly, how is it possible to install that software in all computers in the company and not damaging the privacy of the employee without their permission? Maybe, keeping an eye on their activity is taking their privacy from them, which is an illegal act. There is an possibility that installing this application may lead to disappointment among the employees which may result to bad performance of the company.

In conclusion, recommendation made by vice president is not practically possible. If vice president is able to answer above question and give certain proves that how this will help to improve companies growth without disappointing any employee or harming their privacy than it is possible to think over recommendation made by vice president.