The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin

The author in the given newspaper editorial talks about the illegal immigrants affecting the autonomy, the economy and the national identity of a country. It asserts that illegal immigrants pose a threat to a country and must be returned back to their country of origin. However, the passage fails to discuss the measure of autonomy and makes unstated assumptions about the effect on the economy. Also, the conclusion made by the argument is too strong and is not supported by any pieces of evidence. So, in my opinion, the argument lies on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions and therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

To begin with, the argument states that the autonomy of any country is dependent on the strength of its borders; however, it is a generalization that might not be true for every country. The author cannot collectively say that every country's autonomy relies on the strength of its borders. The autonomy of a country can be elucidated using various factors - the number of imports, the number of military deals, and the strength of the borders. While some countries may consider the strength of their borders as an important factor in determining their autonomy, it would be wrong to assume that every country thinks so. For instance, many European countries do not give much importance to strengthening borders. Many people from neighboring countries can travel to these countries via directly connected roads between the countries and even without the need for visas at immigration checks. However, this does not necessarily mean that these countries are not autonomous. Thus, the author wrongly makes generalized assumptions about the relation between the strength of the boundary and the autonomy of the country.

Furthermore, the author states that illegal immigrants endanger national identity. It might not be the case every time as many immigrants travel illegally between nations for employment opportunities. It might be quite possible that they were unable to find basic works in their own country and might have fallen short of money due to this. So, they try and seek to work in neighboring countries where they would have more opportunities. For instance, consider the workers from Bangladesh who come and work in India to earn their bread. Because of the limited opportunities in their country, they sometimes illegally searching for work opportunities end up in India. These workers may be ready to work at the minimum wage rate which was rejected by the locals and cause an increase in the work done. In fact, the process of searching for illegal immigrants and making arrangements for their return might be so time-consuming and expensive that this effect on the economy would be more than the damage done due to the presence of illegal immigrants.

Thus, the argument is rife with assumptions about the assessment of the strength of the boundaries, illegal immigrants' effect on the economy; it also presents a conclusion which does not have backing from points made in the argument. Also, the author does not provide any evidences of illegal immigrants causing any harm to the national identity or economy of a country which further flatters the author's claims. Had the author kept the above suggestions and points in mind, his argument would have been bolstered much better with valid facts, evidence, or statistics. The argument would also be more convincing and well-reasoned.