55. In order for any work of art-for example, a film, a novel, a poem, a song-to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

I partially agree with the speaker's assertion that a merit of any work of art depends on understandable of the most people. However, there are many other aspects that contribute for any art to be succesful. In other words, content is crucial factor that play a dominant role in art.

For instance, an art like movies, a novel--receives merit when they are easily comprehended by the people. Otherwise, it is neglected. No matter how great it is , unless it is understandable, audience don't recognise its value. Suppose, a native american can't read a korean novel. without background knowledge, one can't judge a art.

In some cases, art like music, even tough when people cannot understand their meaning like "ganganm style"--"Despacito", they really enjoy its beats and music, which have got an immense popularity irrespective of their language. people sing and dance to songs even if they don't understand them.Many famous singers are lauded even when people don't understand their song's lyrics.So,in such cases art gets merit even if it is not understandable by most.

Hereby ,i conclude that it cannot be generalized that arts gets merit only if it is pursued by most of the people because, at the end of the day it is a question about the individual's ability to comprehend and enjoy it.few forms of arts like music and dance can be loved across the world without being understood by people .While, literary art forms need to be understood by people so that they can enjoy them and appreciate it.